Doing the Lord’s Work

If I haven’t made it clear elsewhere, let me do so now.  I don’t blog just because I’ve nothing better to do.  Even though I don’t post that often, I do so because I believe that religion is, on the whole, harmful to human society – a drag on the evolution of humanity away from the selfishness, immaturity, chaos, and violence of the past.

I like to think that we are on the cusp of a breakthrough, of an advance over the next two or three generations that will catapult humanity into the next age of reality – one of Reason and Rational Understanding.  The next age will be one where humanity can deal with their problems and conflicts at face value, without the added filter of unseen, out of date, irrational spiritual fervor to obscure a reasonable view of any situation.

I despair that I won’t be there to see us grow past the need, but I hope to at least see the beginning of the end, so to speak.

As is often the case, the movement to growth, change, and betterment will be very much in the hands of our youth.  Breaking free from religious indoctrination in record numbers, they are finding their way to reason and are sharing their freedom with others.

Often these young people find themselves struggling with families that don’t understand them, wanting to be truthful about what they think and believe, but coerced and threatened into silence and a sort of self-denial.  They just want to be honest, but their honesty threatens the comfortable cocoon religion offers to their families and friends, and the reaction is often severe.

One young man who is standing in the gap for these young people is David G. McAfee.  David has written two books: Disproving Christianity (and Other Writings) and, more importantly to my mind: Mom, Dad, I’m an Atheist.  The latter is a detailed guide for young people to help them communicate their thoughts and beliefs to parents and others who might not understand and who might openly oppose their honesty and commitment to reasonable thinking and non-religious living.

David has a policy of sending out free copies of his books in .pdf format to young people who can’t afford to buy them but really need some support.  I’ve bought both, plus paid him for a small number of additional copies to support this policy.  I encourage any reader committed to Reason to at the very least follow him on Facebook and his blog, learn a little about his background and motivations, and encourage him as he provides young people the support they need to end the dominance of religious thinking in our world.

7 thoughts on “Doing the Lord’s Work

  1. I’ve been reading your blogs with much interest and delight. After calling myself a Christian for over 50 years I have recently renounced the faith. I basically came to the same conclusions that you have over a period of about 5 or 6 years. It all started with research for sermons (lay pastor) that I was preparing. One thing led to another, one question led to another, one book led to another and when my reading led me off the prescribed grid my eyes started to open. I fell off the wagon with much pain and soul searching but off the wagon I came. It has been very difficult to explain my position to my wife and friends who are still Christian so I mostly just keep my mouth shut. It’s good to know that I’m not alone. Thanks for you writing.

    • Wow, Jim: You’re not alone, fortunately, and thanks for taking the time to read through some of these meanderings.

      I hope you are able to work through that with your relations. I was fortunate that my wife had already rejected the faith, so I had a built-in support system. I can’t imagine how hard it would have been (and how hard it was for her too) to be isolated like that.

      Hang in there.

      I highly recommend David’s book. I have no connection to him other than appreciation of his message.

      A couple other resources I would recommend would be Valerie Tarico’s book “Trusting Doubt” which is more about the reason than about dealing with the family, and Great Christina’s book, “Coming Out Atheist” which is all about what you’re dealing with.

      Cheers, and hope to hear more from you.

      If you ever gather your thoughts together about your deconversion in writing, I could always post it here to share with my few followers.

  2. Just spent the last 45 minutes reading your blog. Conflicting emotions collide within me right now as I read your words.

    I’m 52. I was a christian for 35 years, 28 of them I spent in full time ministry of some sort or another. Bible teacher, pastor’s wife, prayer leader/warrior, missionary (to Africa no less!), writer … my christian resume’ covers a broad spectrum of experience.

    Doubt in god’s existence wasn’t the doubt that I struggled with initially. My struggle was my womanhood and god’s view of it. When one actually READS the bible, it’s not hard to conclude that he ain’t no fan of the female of our species! I simply could never reconcile our “fair, just and kind god” with the god who subjugates women just because we’re women. Sounds like supernatural sexism to me. And try as I might to understand the biblical view of women, no amount of study or prayer ever set me free. And there was a metric-poo-ton of both for 35 years!

    I hate to over simplify what turned out to be a four year journey OUT of Christianity, because it was pure hell, fraught with pain, fear, sadness and confusion but it’s almost like one day, I just stopped making excuses for god’s sexism and for the bible. And that led to questioning other areas of my faith which led to the decision to “try on” unbelief for a period of time. You know, just to see what would happen.

    As a starting point, I decided not to pray for 6 months. Might not sound like a big deal to some, but to me, it was a huge life shift! I taught prayer at our church! Like kicking an addiction, I had to fight with myself NOT to pray!

    Six months later I looked back and I saw nothing of note. People still got sick. People still recovered. People got hired. People got fired. I had good days and I had bad days. There were still accidents, mistakes, triumphs and fails all at the same rate as ever. The ebbs and flows of my life were in every way the same as they were when I prayed about absolutely everything. Nothing was different. Not one thing.

    My conflict of emotion in reading your blog is that of relief (I’m not alone) and that of frustration (I feel alone). Living as an X in the bible belt is a challenge. If I dare to talk about my christian experience with anyone, I’m looked at like the circus bearded lady … I’m a freak. A curiosity.

    Anyway … I wanted to let you know that I’ve enjoyed reading your blog this afternoon. Conflict or no, it’s good to know I’m not sitting out on an island by myself talking to a volleyball named Wilson even though it sometimes feels that way.

    • Poppy: You wrote: ” it’s good to know I’m not sitting out on an island by myself talking to a volleyball named Wilson even though it sometimes feels that way”

      I confess, it made me cry to read that. It’s been a tough road giving up a quarter century of faith and what I thought was a rock-solid worldview, but I was very fortunate in that my wife was already there – I had a support system already in place to catch me while I processed all of the ramifications of breaking through the crutch of belief. It makes me well up to know that, even in a very small way, I helped you remember that you aren’t alone. And you aren’t.

      *Hugs*

      Anthony

  3. I’m so thankful for this blog. For the better part of 4 years I haven’t spoken to my family more than the typical cordial holiday greetings and birthday wishes. They are devout Christians and I am on the cusp of my own complete break from the chains of the faith. I’ve never felt supported by my family in any way. Before my father married the woman he is with now he never pushed religion on me in any way. Then when she came along I was forced to go to church, forced to pray, forced to cancel my astronomy class because I’m not supposed to “look to the heavens,” forced to dump my mixed race boyfriend because “even the bible says the races shouldn’t mix” (her exact words). Even as a child I knew that all of these things were completely asinine but under their roof I better not ever say that out loud! I love my family but religion has made them nasty, ugly, judgemental, unsupportive people that I simply love from a distance. I too feel like Poppy that I’m alone and that if I admit my non-belief to anyone I will be looked at like a freak or a demon even. I’m waiting for my breakthrough but until then I will continue reading 🙂

    • Thank you for looking in on this blog. I’m sorry I don’t post more often, but it means a lot to me that you found some solace here. I’m sorry your family has treated you the way they have. That is the curse of religion. It warps the very natural loyalties and relationships we would otherwise have for a lifetime. Here’s hoping your family finds their way through and out of their delusion and back into your life in a healthy manner.

Leave a Reply

