Eye of the Beholder

How does one talk about their experience with the word “I?”

How does one talk about their place in the world, in the universe, without the word “I?”

How do we share our thoughts, our concerns, our pains, our worries, our griefs, our joys, our discoveries, our hopes, our dreams, our failures, our mistakes, our defeats, our triumphs, our victories – all the things that make up our lives, without the word “I?”

Is it conceited to share your thoughts by expressing them through your own eyes?  Whose eyes would you use?  Would you speak for yourself, or would you dare speak instead for another?  Wouldn’t that be its own conceit?

Who would speak for you?  Who can know the depths of your heart but yourself?  Who can express  the real you better than you?

And who would do that without the word “I?”

You could try, of course.

But it would just sound silly.

And dishonest.

Like you were trying too hard.

So share, tell, express.  Tell me what you’re thinking, what you hope, what you dream, what makes you smile, what makes you cry.

And start every sentence with the word “I.”

It will still be beautiful.

And it will be true.

7 thoughts on “Eye of the Beholder

  1. I love my life of feedom to believe what I want to believe. I love my family more than life itself. I love my job and making a difference in the lives of children. I love helping and caring for others. I love reading blogs of people who have left the faith because of sound reasons. I love your blog.

    • Wow – those are very kind words. Thank you!

      Of course, reading your comment, my friend Rick would say you’re egocentric for talking about yourself.

      But I’ll say that I so very much understand what you’re saying. I hope you come around a lot 🙂

  2. I really enjoy these posts. I love being able to use the word I and really mean it. I have a choice. I think the word I is both strong and humble. Do you take this woman? I do. Who is responsible for this? I am. I am sorry I broke your rule to “…start every sentence with the word I”. 

    • LOL – that’s the great thing about reality. There is no god waiting to smite you for breaking the rule 🙂

      Thanks for the kind words. I also think it is strong and humble. I think it *can* be conceited, of course, to focus too squarely on yourself. But my friend Rick is terribly off the mark and willfully misunderstanding both my intent and my heart. He’s looking for a chink in the armor to blast my abandonment of belief and shame me back into the fold.

      It is unfortunate that friendship must come to this. It is sad that religion steals what should be so readily shared.

Leave a Reply

